Wishing a Special Sister Happy Birthday

Moonlight becomes you

It was my sister Cindy’s birthday on Saturday, December 5. She’s a year and a day younger than my oldest sister Linda. They are as different as the moon and the stars. My sister Cindy is the moon, a steady shining light – familiar and beautiful and wise.

 I know her face – the one that looks so different from my own that people never imagine we are sisters – almost as well as I know my own. She may be four years older than me, but you’d never guess this petite woman with her shiny hair, hazel eyes, and beautiful smile is anywhere near her chronological age. Cindy’s the first one in my family to give me a celebratory hug when I share good news like winning a blue ribbon for one of my floral designs. She shines her light into the corners of my life where sad and scary events have a tendency to lurk, and we all know things look less scary and sad in the light, right? I count on her love and support and she doesn’t disappoint. I’m lucky.

 Today we met at The Cheesecake Factory for her birthday lunch. I thought a lot about what I wanted to give her. It’s important to me to get it right. I bought her flowers that are much like her: orchids, deceptively delicate looking pale pink and deep purple blooms on slender stems that are very long lasting, even after they are cut. And a scarf; I gave her a scarf in shades of taupe and brown and tan and terra cotta and a deeper brick color. The scarf alternates smooth color with gathered texture, and it’s soft and cozy and warm. It will be comforting on a cold winter day. Yep. Some years it’s easy to figure out what to get Cindy and other years it isn’t. This year was a no brainer.

2 Comments

Filed under Birthday

2 responses to “Wishing a Special Sister Happy Birthday

  1. Cindy

    Thank you for making me feel important, valued, deserving, cherished, & loved. Your thoughtfulness & generosity always warms my heart. The orchids are beautiful, the scarf fabulous, and the Special gift I’ll have forever. Although born a year and a day apart, Linda & I shared birthdays for 54 years. Last year as the days approached I said “I can’t celebrate.” This year I realized I didn’t know how to do it without her. But, you knew what I needed. Yesterday you shared it with me. Thank you from my heart for giving me my birthday back!

Leave a Reply

