Let’s Talk Recipes

It’s Sunday and Buttermilk Breakfast Cake Day

We had snow Saturday night, about 8 inches worth. And unwilling to climb out of my nice warm bed, I didn’t get up until well past 9 am. What a treat! As I headed for the kitchen and a cup of tea I paused in the kitchen doorway and looked at the dirty skillet and spatula left on the stove. Ah. Max arrived home from college Friday night and he hasn’t stopped eating since he walked through the door. Well, to be perfectly honest, he’s been eating non-stop when he isn’t sleeping non-stop. I mean it’s almost 3 pm as I write this and he’s still conked out on the sofa downstairs. Looking closely at the skillet I’d say Max made and ate a ham-and-cheese-dipped in egg sandwich prior to falling asleep.

Try it and be a hero in your home!

Anyway, having cleared up the mystery of who ate what and when, I turned the oven on 350 degrees and prepared to bake a buttermilk breakfast cake. To be honest, I’m not sure if I pulled the recipe from Southern Living magazine or Southern Lady magazine or exactly where (Real Simple?!). All I know is that the cake tastes yummy and I’ve made it any number of times since that first time in 2008. Rummaging around in the refrigerator yesterday, I unearthed a half quart of  buttermilk. After sniffing it and determining that it was still fine to use it didn’t take me long to know, absolutely and without a doubt, that I was making my favorite breakfast cake with it. It takes about 15 minutes to whip up, 45 minutes in the oven, 35 minutes to cool, then you ice it, stand back and become your family’s food hero.

 As it bakes it can move a husband from the computer in his office to a seat at the island in the kitchen, casually waiting. It can waken a daughter from her bed and bring her downstairs, sniffing delightedly at the cinnamon sugar scent in the air. It can’t, however, wake a college freshman who has been sleeping for 14 hours already. (See upcoming “Weekend Food”  post on what food can do that.)

Three people, one warm cake and thirty minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Let's Talk Recipes

Leave a Reply

