I’m Sick: Day Three

Television to the Rescue

I've been using a lot of these.

I’m battling an upper respiratory infection. Is it the flu? Unlikely since I’ve had both the H1N1 and seasonal flu shots; however, I feel M I S E R A B L E. And when I have a stuffed up head and nose and these body aches and chills, it makes it darned near impossible for me to hear, let alone think or write. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

The upside to being sick, though, is that I get to do something I hardly ever do (except when I’m sick): watch too much television. Last night I watched three (count’em) episodes of Tabitha’s Salon Takeover back to back and one of Models of the Runway before succumbing to sleep. I would have watched the first episode of Project Runway but it didn’t get recorded on the DVR properly. Yes, they are mindless television shows, but I find them endlessly entertaining.

My all-time favorite show.

Just think, Tory started to watch the Real Housewives of Orange County a year ago Christmas because she heard her Uncle Phil’s detailed description of what was happening on the show and his sheer enthusiasm for it.  She took a look and “poof” she was hooked. Tory still shakes her head and laughs when she talks about Uncle Phil’s television watching habits. She loves him and finds it both strange and wonderful that her big, tough Uncle Phil watches the show.

Uncle Phil's Fav

And here’s another surprising one:  My own husband pops up from nowhere every time Tory turns on Jersey Shore. He settles in with Tory, and together they watch, barely blinking. They laugh and gasp and exchange comments about all the drama, while I think the show is about as interesting as watching dirty water circle the drain. No accounting for our individual tastes, right?

Entertainment or Dirty Water Circling the Drain?

What mindless, but entertaining television do you watch? I might just watch it and become addicted to it right now while I’m sick!

What do YOU watch?

6 Comments

Filed under Television Shows

6 responses to “I’m Sick: Day Three

  1. sorry to hear you are suffering — sympathies from Maine. I too am a fan of Project Runway and having caught the initial episode there are some interesting characters and I think more competent designers. My all time favorite no-brainer is the Amazing Race – usually Sunday nights. Great travel information coupled with reality characters that you get to know better than on some of the other shows — and the tasks are always related to the cultures that they find themselves in. (Do I sound like I am rationalizing this on some educational platform??)

    • Thanks for the sympathy! I haven’t seen the Runway episode yet so thanks for giving me a hint on the season without ‘spoiling’ anything. I remember watching Amazing Race at your house. I think the racers were in China when I saw it and it was fun to learn a little history without even trying.

  2. Ginger Finder

    Sorry to hear that you are under the weather – hope you start feeling better soon…we’re waiting on the season opener for “24” – in less than an hour. Love it along w/ Curb Your Enthusiasm. Dancing w/ the Stars, Two and a half Men, The Good Wife. You know that I still record General Hospital…Surf TLC every once in awhile to check in on the Dugger’s and the little people…Barefoot Contessa, Giada and What not to Wear. We were addicted to Housewives of Atlanta for about a week…After renting Season 1 of Mad Men – I’m ready for Season 2.

  3. Pat

    I got sucked into 2 straight hours of Clean House while hanging out with Toby yesterday.

Leave a Reply

