A New Hero

I have a new hero. Her name is Ree Drummond, but people in the blogging world, on Face Book and Twitter know her as The Pioneer Woman. She’s a rancher’s wife and mother of four who takes gorgeous photos and knows how to tell a story; she has a tilted view of her ranching world that she generously shares with her thousands and thousands of readers.

When I first found her site — thepioneerwoman.com — I was immediately drawn into her “Black Heels to Tractor Wheels” tale of how she met and married her husband, The Marlboro Man. She entertained me for hours; I literally couldn’t stop reading. Full disclosure: Years (and years) ago I was a closet reader of Harlequin romance novels. Back then I dreamed of being swept off my feet by a romantic guy, just like in those paperback novels. Pioneer Woman’s story is better written and more entertaining than any Harlequin, in my opinion.

Pioneer Woman shares generously. She shares ranch stories, kids stories, animal stories and recipes. She talks about herself in a way that makes you laugh with her, want to read more about her and learn more. She gives you permission to download and print her photographs. She runs contests and quizzes and makes you laugh. No matter when I check in (and I admit that I check in daily), I always find something new and interesting. She keep her blog fresh and fun while home schooling four kids, cooking three squares and snacks a day, doing mountains of skuzzy laundry, helping on the ranch and who knows what else. I am in awe of the pace she keeps.

My Hero

And she is now a New York Times best-selling author with The Pioneer Woman Cooks. She wrote about her book tour escapades on her blog. Funny. I saw a pile of her cookbooks at my local Barnes & Noble in December, but I had forgotten my coupon. So I returned with coupon in hand a few days later, but her cookbook was sold out. Today, though, I was lucky. I bought the lone book I found tucked waaay under a counter. I almost missed it. I came home and I read it, the whole thing. It’s a good read too. Like reading her blog and being there.

So, yes, I have a new hero. She’s been blogging for three short years and has garnered thousands of fans. She’s upbeat, funny and generous. And she knows how to tell a story. I hope I get to meet her in person someday so I can tell her myself how she has influenced me and entertained me in equal parts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs and Blogging, books, Cooking, Food, recipes

Leave a Reply

