Who Needs to “Work Out?”

Gardening Is a Sport in My World

Every year I pull out the strawberry pots and see what survived the winter in the unheated greenhouse.

I am an avid gardener. I don’t do grass though. Oh no. My husband Mike is the Lawn Ranger. I leave the mowing and grass primping to him. I am in charge of Everything Else: trees, shrubs, perennials, annuals, vegetables, urns, pots, tools, supplies. You name it. I care for it. You should see my hands. And you should see my Felco #6 pruners. We have some miles on us.

Some of my fav tools, particularly the Mud Gloves, which are great on cold spring days in the dirt.

Some of my friends “garden.” They put on a pretty hat and nice gloves and go out into their yard and snip. I garden.  I wear crappy clothes to garden: ratty too-short jeans, a long-sleeved shirt, a ridiculous looking hat, ankle socks and kneepads. I work outside for hours at a time (5 today alone), lost in thought in my dirty world.

Currently, I am working my way west to east across our front hill. It’s jungle-like out there. The roses are so big they flop. The hydrangeas need the dead wood removed. The azaleas need more light. The hostas and liriope need groomed. And I’m the woman doing it. The birds ignore me as they swoop and tussle. The rabbits hop around like I’m not there. I’ve become part of their landscape.

Empty raised bed; one of two built years ago. They are GREAT!

I put in the vegetable garden, or at least the beginnings, this week too. True, weeks ago when it was almost 70 degrees, I put in radish and wax bean and string bean seeds just to see if they’d sprout. And they have, albeit a little slower than I’d thought. And Friday night it was really cold and rainy so who knows how that will affect the two tomato plants and the basil. They could bite the dirt, so to speak!

The bunnies love the celery and the squirrels will dig up anything just 'because.'

Can you see the little green sprouts? Click on photo for a closeup!

I put in catnip seed weeks ago too. The local cats end up flopped in whatever container I put the catnip in every single year. Our Siamese Brutus loves fresh catnip. When I harness him up and take him for walks in the yard he always end up drooling in it!

2 kinds of lettuce, basil, parsley, radishes, 2 kinds of beans, eggplant, broccoli, zucchini and 2 tomato plants to start! Oops. Onions too. My favorite right out of the garden.

Leave a comment

Filed under gardening, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

