My Own Private Island

No Shells, But Lots of Sunshine

You take this cool jitney to get to the dock.

Yesterday my husband Mike and I rolled out of bed at 7:30 am; we wanted to take the first ferry to “the Island.” It’s one of the main reasons I adore Hyatt Coconut Point. Hyatt shares this private island, officially called Hickory Island, with another local resort. The island is a wild and beautiful place that happens to have a narrow strip of beach and two large screened gazebos connected by elevated boardwalks. It’s never been crowded when we’ve visited.

You just kick back and relax on the 15 minute ferry ride. Sometimes you see dolphins or manatee.

The tide was in when we arrived yesterday. That meant no shelling since the beach “disappears,” but we staked claim to two beach chairs and a table up on the boardwalk. And we stayed for four lovely hours.  The sun was shining; it was hot, but not too hot; and the breeze kept the no-see-ums at bay. Like I said, “Perfect.”

I can stare at the water forever.

So much to do: I read Self magazine (on loan from my daughter Tory). I stared at the water. I admired the horizon. I day dreamed. I napped. Like I said, “Perfect.”

Unless I'm busy staring at the osprey nest, willing the birds to appear.

And this morning? I woke up scratching. The no-see-ums must have bitten me last night when I went to Barnes & Noble for a literary fix. Well, nothing is really perfect. . .Is it?

Today we’re going to Sanibel and Captiva Islands, a little north of here. You see, those beaches have some of the best shelling in Florida. Wish me luck! And Mike is looking forward to eating at the Mucky Duck again.

1 Comment

Filed under Hyatt Coconut Plantation

One response to “My Own Private Island

  1. Ginger

    Glad you’re having a good time and hope the weather holds! Maybe the bad weather jinx is broken – although it poured in Dallas when I was there!

Leave a Reply

