Sleep

How Much Is Enough?

How Much Sleep Do YOU Get?

Sleep. Most times when I say the word “sleep” out loud I want to go upstairs and crawl right into my bed. I haven’t been getting enough sleep lately. My eyes are gritty. My smile is sagging. And my body aches. Perhaps I need some uninterrupted, wake-up-without-an-alarm sleep.

<sigh>

Trying to lasso my daughter Tory’s ever-changing schedule is a challenge. Rarely, I get to stay home for an entire evening. Mostly, I drive (or supervise her driving) from place to place or event to event until after 9 pm.

Last night with “nothing to do,” I crawled into bed at 8:15 pm.  I flipped through a catalog for all of 3 minutes before I turned out the light. As if by magic our two faithful Siamese, Brutus and T-Rex, appeared and hopped onto the bed with me.

Standing on my chest, eye to eye, Brutus stared at me. He sniffed my nose, licked it lightly, then settled in the crook of my arm for what I am sure he hoped would be a long night’s sleep.

Brutus comes running whenever I arrive home. His hobby is sleeping with me.

T-Rex, not to be left out, hopped on my chest, yawned in my face, then plastered himself along my other side, from chest to knee.

My other faithful friend. Of course, he's always looking for food so maybe that's why he hangs out with me.

They had spoken.

It was bedtime.

So we slept.

Soundly.

P.S. In “My World and Welcome to It” (to your right) I uploaded a video of T-Rex you might find amusing. Every morning I put my vitamins on a napkin on the kitchen island and every morning he tries to hunt down and eat my cod liver oil capsule.

1 Comment

Filed under Siamese Cats, Sleep

One response to “Sleep

  1. Beautiful cats 🙂

    I have a love/hate relationship with sleep… when I go to bed at 8 and wake up at 7, it’s not enough. When I go to bed at 11 and wake up at 7, it’s not enough. I can never get the right balance!

Leave a Reply

