Baking Muffins, Prepping Fruit Salad, & Packing the Truck

What I Did on Friday to Get Ready for Saturday

Muffins & Cupcakes by Larry Rosenberg

On Friday, I was prepping for my daughter Tory’s high school volleyball team’s kickoff breakfast, which I was coordinating. I baked three kinds of muffins: 5 dozen regular-size muffins and 3 dozen mini-muffins.

My go-to recipes for muffins come from a little recipe book. I bought it probably two decades ago in a little “kitchen” store on the way to Cape May Point, NJ. I guess I don’t need to tell you that the store is long gone. . .

After the muffins were cooling on racks, I figured I’d better get started on the fruit salad. Only thing. . .I don’t eat fruit salad so I had to make a quick phone call to my Magnificent Seven friend Gail and ask her what fruits I should use and if I could mix all the fruits together and let them sit in the frig overnight.

Duh.

Gail, bless her, suggested that I cut and store each fruit in a separate container —  no bananas or apples in case they turned brown – then mix them together in large bowls in the morning. I took her advice as well as borrowed her 60-cup coffeemaker and pump pot! With friends like me. . .!

Muffins?

I can fit a lot in my Honda Pilot. How about you?

Check.

Fruit salad?

And see how much I can stuff in the back? All necessary items to pull off a breakfast fit nicely!

Check.

Breakfast is served to about 75 hungry athletes and their families.

What did you do Friday and Saturday?  Drop me a line!

The terrific athletes and their families.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cooking, Food, Magnificent Seven, recipes, Volleyball, Volunteering

2 responses to “Baking Muffins, Prepping Fruit Salad, & Packing the Truck

  1. Pingback: Baking Muffins, Prepping Fruit Salad, & Packing the Truck … |

  2. That’s a lot to fit in one car! I can fit a lot in my Mazda MPV too- love all the roominess 😀

Leave a Reply

