Halloween Weekend

AKA the Two Days After My Birthday

Let me begin by telling you that my nephew played magnificently on Friday night; however, his team did not. Patrick is my hero; his team? Not so much.

Ramapo High vs Wayne HIlls High: Friday night under the lights.

Moving on. . .

Have you ever heard of the TNT Last Look Weekend? It’s a club softball player’s last chance to see and be seen by prospective college coaches in our area. The fields are located in Quakertown, PA. Temps hovered around 40 degrees Fahrenheit both days. I froze my butt off cheering for my daughter and her teammates. My throat hurt. My fingers were frozen. But I wouldn’t have traded places with anyone else in the world.

My daughter loves her teammates and they love her. Warriors, all of them.

I go to watch my daughter. Four games, two days.

My daughter is a warrior. Tory walked out onto the field both days to pitch in 40 degree weather wearing only an Under Armor shirt, a cotton tee shirt, softball pants, high socks, a Rip It face protector and her new Ringor metal cleats. She threw pitch after pitch while I shivered under a blanket in my winter coat, hat and gloves. She was focused and intense, never showing she was cold, never showing she was anything other than in control.

We didn't decorate, but the kids don't mind. They focus on the candy and treats we give out.

We are home now and the doorbell is ringing. We didn’t have time to decorate our home for Halloween this year; we didn’t even carve pumpkins, but I’m happy to say that it hasn’t deterred the goblins and ghosties running up our driveway. It’s Halloween and the trick or treating is mighty fine.

1 Comment

Filed under Adventures of a Middle Age Mom, Birthday, Halloween, softball

One response to “Halloween Weekend

  1. I love Halloween. We had over 200 trick-or-treaters this year (typical for us). So adorable.

    Best wishes to Tory!

Leave a Reply

