Red-Winged Blackbirds: First Sighting EVER

These beautiful birds in my yard for the first time EVER!

The hubbub outside my kitchen window at 8:30 this morning was incredible. At first I thought the local hawk had swooped in for some breakfast. But when I looked out the kitchen window, I saw a whole flock of red-winged blackbirds swarming the bird feeder and paddling around in the warm-water birdbath. They overran my regular avian visitors and the triplet squirrels who come every morning for breakfast.

The bright red and yellow flashed on the blackbirds’ wings as they tussled for a spot at the feeder; their feathers shone in the weak morning sunshine. The young blue jay perched in the tree next to my kitchen window had a slightly shocked look on his face as he watched the flock take over his feeder.

My red-sleeved guests stayed for about 5 minutes. I was entranced to see so many of them at once at my feeder; that’s why I forgot to run for my camera and that’s why I only have this pitiful photo to share. I’ve never seen a red-winged blackbird in my town, or even in New Jersey!

Pitiful photo of a small portion of the birds that were in my yard.

It’s the first time I’ve seen a flock of red-winged blackbirds up close. The jostling crowd had the regulars standing stock still in shock. Even the triplet squirrels backed up and let the visitors have at it. And just as suddenly as they appeared, they disappeared. The feeder is pretty well empty and the bird bath water needs changing.

It's strangely silent at the feeder now.

Our two Siamese, asleep when they should have been bird watching!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures of a Middle Age Mom, Animal Tales, Birds, Cats, hawk, New Jersey, Photography, Siamese Cats, Squirrels

Leave a Reply

