The N.J. Tree Foundation Needs My Vote – And Yours!

NJ Tree Foundation helps non-profits re-tree New Jersey!

A few years ago I took on a huge gardening project: transforming a worn-out landscape in front of one of my town’s middle schools into a gorgeous urban oasis of trees, shrubs, birds and blooms. It was a labor of love that took more than three years to complete. No organization was more helpful in transforming that middle school front yard into the beautiful oasis it is today than the N.J. Tree Foundation. The Foundation’s grant provided all the trees and many of the shrubs AND The Foundation’s crew worked with the middle school kids to plant those trees and shrubs.

I started with zero dollars and no backing. I applied for grants. I entered contests to win goods and services. I talked about the project everywhere I went. I just knew in my heart that this landscape transformation was supposed to happen. It was one of the best days of my life when the NJ Tree Foundation work crew rolled up to the front of that middle school! Students and staff, shovels at the ready, crowded the front steps and peered from the windows, waiting to greet the people who were going to help them transform their front yard into the tranquil, inviting landscape that is a welcome addition to the neighborhood and an asset to the school community.

Now the N.J. Tree Foundation is trying to garner enough votes to win a $250,000 grant from Pepsi Refresh. Lisa and James, key people at N.J. Tree, need my vote and yours, every day this month. The organization that gets the most votes during the month of January will win the money. The Foundation will plant trees, thousands and thousands of them, if it wins!

Click on this link — http://www.refresheverything.com/newjerseytreefoundation — register yourself then vote for the N.J. Tree Foundation project every day this month. Help them win a grant that will help other schools and organizations in New Jersey refurbish and renew our urban streetscapes. It only takes a few minutes to register and a minute or so every day this month to vote. It’s such a small amount of time for such a big potential return.

Pepsi Refresh helps non-profits make a difference on our world.

Spread the Word!

1 Comment

Filed under Adventures of a Middle Age Mom, gardening, New Jersey, NJ Tree Foundation, Pepsi Refresh, Trees

One response to “The N.J. Tree Foundation Needs My Vote – And Yours!

  1. What a great thing you did for your community! I can’t even keep my houseplants alive, so I’m always amazed by people with a green thumb.

    Just wanted to stop by and say Thank You for visiting the domestic fringe today. I appreciate the comment you left me. Hope you’ll be back soon.
    -FringeGirl

Leave a Reply

